Georgia Car Insurance Laws
Every resident of Georgia is obligated to carry car insurance for their vehicles. In the case of a car accident, insurance companies will be there to give compensation to take care of medical bills and vehicle repairs, depending on the kind of coverage you have.
It is important to know the kind of coverage you need under Georgia car damage laws and if it’s enough to protect you and your loved ones when an accident happens. Your choice of what type of insurance and the amount of coverage to buy can impact your life.
Who the Insurance Covers
At first, you might think that you are the only one that the insurance policy covers. However, in reality, your car insurance offers coverage to many individuals if you caused an accident.
Based on the kind of coverage your insurance policy includes, your car insurance may cover some of the following:
- Passengers inside your vehicle
- Drivers you allow to drive your car
- Passengers of other cars involved in the accident
- The drivers of other cars associated with the accident
What Kind of Coverage Is Required
In a no-fault state, injured individuals should exhaust their policy’s limits for damages before getting compensation from the third party.
Though Georgia laws don’t require injury victims to exhaust their policies first. It requires every car owner to carry their liability insurance on all vehicles they own.
Georgia auto insurance laws need liability insurance, designed to help at-fault parties to cover all the expenses of a car accident. This means, if you run at a stop sign and hit a car of another driver, you will be responsible for all the damages caused to the driver and the car.
When it comes to this case, the auto insurance will provide around $25,000 to take care of the bodily injuries and another $25,000 to cover the expenses of the damaged property.
Requirements of Auto Insurance
Similar to many states, Georgia needs a particular amount of coverage for every qualified driver. It expects you to carry your coverage to ensure that you can pay if you cause an accident.
However, it doesn’t expect you to come along with additional coverage like underinsured/Uninsured Motorist, Collision & Comprehensive, or personal liability.
Alternatives to Auto Insurance
Every Georgia driver is required to show their proof of financial responsibilities. The common method you can do this is to buy a policy. Though there are other alternatives to show that you will be liable for the losses. Some of these alternatives include the following:
- Submitting a deposit of not less than $100,000 to Georgia’s commissioner.
- Depositing around $300,000 of government notes or bonds.
- Maintaining a minimum of $300,000 in investments in a trust or bank.
- Depositing approximately $300,000 into the savings accounts that the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp backs.
Whether you want to spend some time in the Blue Ridge Mountains or visit downtown Atlanta, you might want to feel protected while traveling. It will also be important to seek legal help when you get involved in an auto accident. A professional lawyer may help you handle the insurance firms involved in your case, including your UIM/UM provider and at-fault driver’s liability insurer.
comments powered by Disqus